Greg Olsen named NFL Man of the Year nominee


CHARLOTTE, NC — Tight End Greg Olsen is the Carolina Panthers Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Nominee, the NFL announced Thursday.

As the Panthers nominee, Olsen is one of 32 players, one from each NFL team, eligible to be selected for the only NFL award that recognizes a player for his community service activities as well as his excellence on the field. 

This is the third consecutive nomination for Olsen, who was first nominated for the award in 2015. Olsen was one of three finalists for the national award in 2016.

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award is considered one of the League’s most prestigious honors. Three of the 32 team nominees will be selected as finalists for the national award, renamed in 1999 after the late Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back Walter Payton.

Finalists will be announced in January 2018. 

To learn more about Olsen’s nomination, visit

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

More Viral