Several schools issue closings, delays for Jan. 5


The relentless cold sweeping through the Carolinas isn’t giving up, causing some schools to issue closings and delays for Friday, Jan. 5.

Anson, Ashe, Avery, Chesterfield, Richmond and Watauga County Schools will be closed on Friday for students and staff. Schools that will be operating under a two-hour delay include:

  • Alexander County
  • Burke County Schools 
  • Cabarrus County Schools 
  • Caldwell County Schools 
  • Catawba County Schools and the Quest program
  • Cleveland County Schools 
  • Gaston County Schools 
  • Hickory Public Schools 
  • Iredell-Statesville Schools 
  • Kannapolis City Schools 
  • Lincoln County Schools 
  • Mooresville Graded School District 
  • Newton-Conover Schools
  • Rowan-Salisbury Schools
  • Stanly County Schools
  • Wingate University 
  • Union County Schools

Check back with us to stay up-to-date on all school closings and delays in our area. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

More Viral